The One Where I Am Sharing (37 / 365)

GOOD LORD!  2 AM?

GOOD LORD! 2 AM?  Utter look of disgust

My mother and father-in-law believe and share with us and their friends and family that things that occur in life can be lessons or blessings, and I love them for that.  With that being said, I was blessed today to share the gift of exercise and motivation with my sons Adam (15) and Anthony (13), both going on 30.

Inspired by the words of the Officer of the Henderson Police Department at 2:35 AM this morning, “As long as there are no bruises or broken bones, Corporal Punishment is still legal in Nevada“.  good to know and well played Mr. Officer, you get a policeman “A”.  I figured i had better tools than beating my two boys for being picked up at 2:00 AM, running through the sprinklers in a park over a mile from our house, like taking away the XBox and cellphones.

(INTERLUDE:  You read that right, the geniuses were running through gray water at 2 AM, I AM truly blessed that is all that they were doing)

So I took their electronica, but as I went to work tired, and no energy I thought back to the days of boot camp and was truly inspired.  It became obvious to me that the boys were not getting enough physical activity during the day.  So when I got home, I ensured that they were fully hydrated and had a bottle of water and took them back to the park.  It was a nice balmy 85, pretty cool for this time of year in Vegas.

If you never played football or were in the military, you have no idea what grass drills are; but if you have ever heard the words “Front! Back! GOOOOO!” screamed at you for ten minutes, you know what kind of workout the boys had.  I had them falling on their face, flipping onto their backs and doing flutter kicks just to jump up and run in place or fall right back down for some push ups.  it was kind of awesome and I got a Drill Sergent Boner, it explained a lot about Drill Sergent Cashion and his hatred of me.  Once we were done with that, and they thought it was time to get back into the car, I told them they would be jogging home and had 7 minutes to get there.  1.2 miles by road, probably .75 by secret boy back way method.  They made it in 8.

After letting them cool off, I mean, they were red and sweaty; I had them refill their water bottles and took them for phase two at the park almost two miles away that has a splash pad (water feature).  Once there, we commenced grass drills on the splash pad in front of about a dozen little kids in swimsuits who had never seen anything as funny as two teen boys doing push ups, rolling around and running in place all while water is spraying them.  I had an accomplice as about 5 minutes in, the water shut off – the little boy looked at me, and smiled.  Adam and Anthony thought they were over, but my new friend caught my nod and turned the water back on.  Front! Back! GOOOO! I had the little kids laughing and yelling along with me.  Once done, time for one last jog.

It took them 30 minutes to get home, and I greeted them with Gatorade and explained to them why boredom is not a valid reason to sneak out at night and that there are real dangers and evil in the world and when the police call at 2 AM, instantly your heart sinks.  I shared with them, that though I was please it was just sprinklers, this scared me shitless and I am not able to protect them when they sneak out.  Both boys got some tears and apologized profusely and we have put this behind us.  I think the physical fitness plain tired them out, and was a good lesson.  I kind of feel like doing some canon cockers now.

Namaste.

Leave a Reply

